« Home | Why the Left is Right - Liberal Quotes » | Hackett in the PD » | Morning Round Up » | Red State, Meet Police State - Harrassed by police... » | Morning Round Up » | SherrodBrown.com - Brown unveils new website » | A name worth remembering - Jennifer Martinez » | Arrested for Hanging a Poster? (Updated numerous t... » | More on Cheney (Covering up an affair ?) » | Dateline Australia Abu Ghraib Torture Documentary » 

Sunday, February 19, 2006 

Questionable Hackett Site Wants your Money

A site claiming to want your help "Drafting Paul Hackett to the US Senate" has some questionable aspects to it. I suspect it is a scam.

HackPac.com has only existed a few days but it is already accepting funds to a PO Box, it has not disclosed it's FEC number, there is no record of them at the states business inquiries site and they don't provide contact information. Even more suspicious, it is impossible to determine the owner of the domain name because it is officially held by a middle man service - DomainsbyProxy.com. (Domains by Proxy is private registration firm that allows individuals to get around the ICANN requirements. ICANN requires every registrar to have a publicly accessable whois).

Who would pay to get around the requirements and keep thier identity a secret?

Whatever the reason, I would not give them any money. It just seems too fishy.

Tags:, ,

Nice research, Cindy. Thank you.

maybe it's a net savvey brown staffer? hell, they did it with blogads, why not this?

I just came across your blog and wanted to
drop you, Blogger, a note telling you how impressed I was with
the information you have posted here.
If you have a moment, please visit my site:
domain names center
It covers domain names center related contents.
I send you warm regards and wish you continued success.

Hey Fellow, you have a great blog here! I have a web
site & blog about domain names center.
Yours is top-notch!
If you have a moment, please visit my site
domain names center
I wish you all the best!

Post a Comment